Department of Homeland Security

The Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007 assigns responsibilities to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to engage state, local, tribal, and territorial partners and strengthen the nation's defense against terrorist and criminal activities. DHS coordinates departmental and federal inter-agency support to fusion centers. As part of this effort, DHS has deployed Intelligence Officers to provide operational intelligence advice, assistance and essential resources to support state and major urban area fusion centers nationwide.

DHS Missions and Responsibilities

The Department of Homeland Security's mission is to ensure a homeland that is safe, secure, and resilient against terrorism and other hazards.

There are five Departmental missions:

  • Prevent terrorism and enhance security
  • Secure and manage our borders
  • Enforce and administer our immigration laws
  • Safeguard and secure cyberspace
  • Ensure resilience to disasters

The Department's efforts are supported by an ever-expanding set of partners, including federal, state, tribal, and local governments, law enforcement, the private sector, international allies, and individual citizens, communities and organizations. Together, they are improving their awareness of risks and threats, working to build safer and more resilient communities and develop innovative approaches and solutions through advanced science and technology.

Visit the Department of Homeland Security's Website.

If You See Something, Say Something